The Heartbreak of Hair Loss + Home Remedies by Dr. Josh Axe

The first 3 years of my healthy hair journey, I had to combat hair breakage and excessive hair shedding.

It can be one of the most heartbreaking things a woman has to deal with in terms of beauty and self confidence.

We live in a society obsessed with hair. Natural hair, color treated hair, braids, wigs, hair extensions, perms… you name it and most of us have tried it.

Being that a woman’s hair is her glory and one of the first things people notice about us, it is devastating to deal with hair loss. Especially when you do not what is causing your hair loss or what to do to stop it.

Not every beauty salon product works for everyone. Hair product labels can also be extremely misleading. Are the ingredients organic? Are they unrefined? Sometimes you just can’t tell.

When I first started losing my hair, I went with the high end products first. They say you get what you pay for, so I left the drug store products on the shelf. The salon product that worked best for me (which actually is not all that expensive) was the Aphogee Two-Step Protein treatment.

It stopped my excessive shedding within a week so. But this treatment is considered a “strong protein treatment”. Over use of this product could cause your hair to become overloaded with protein and actually break.

That is when I resorted to natural home remedies that I could use from week to week. My favorite home remedy that has worked for years is a pre-shampoo treatment.

It is an oil treatment that I massage into my scrap and apply down to the ends of my hair. I massage my scalp for about 10 to 20 minutes, put on a shower/plastic cap for another 15 minutes, and then head to the shower to cleanse my hair.

During this 30 to 40 minute period, I am usually taking the time to catch up on YouTube. Hence the Dr. Axe video below.

My basic oil blend contains coconut oil, extra virgin olive oil, rosemary essential oil, and sandalwood essential oil. Recently I have upgraded this oil treatment by steeping a large batch of oil in fenugreek and sage herbs for 4 to 6 weeks.

Not only have I seen a decrease in excessive shedding but also a decrease in dandruff and itchy scalp.

What I really love is that home remedies for hair loss is usually less expensive than the high end salon brands. On top of that there is no question about the ingredients you are putting in or on your body.

Check out this great video by Dr. Josh Axe. He offers many more home remedies that I look forward to trying out myself!

You can purchase a 2 fl oz version of my herbal infused hair oil here. This version of my infused hair and scalp oil is packed with natural oils that promotes hair growth and a healthy scalp.

Piping Rock | Always the Best for Less | Essential Oils, Herbs, Supplements

Do you have a home remember for hair loss to share? Leave a comment down below!

Love,

The Abundantly You Team

 

Leave a comment